Bookmarked

I used to treat people the same way I used to treat books. I used to read them thoroughly, and concentrate on every word. I used to make a new bookmark for each and every one of them, even. I never skipped pages. I used to remember my favourite scenes and go back to them. I never left them until I finished, and that was followed by a night of not knowing what to do with myself. I used to tell all my friends about them. I used to be awestruck, completely. I preserved them in a shelf opposite my study table in mint condition.

I still treat people the way I treat books. But the way I treat books has changed. I skim through. I start more books than I can finish. And I don’t leave them in mint condition anymore.14c429b2c999c8fdb983de05bc6f3a20

Leave a Reply

