Soft Light

They say that the best writers are sad

They say that melancholy fuels art

That tears ink the best poetry

That gloom has unabashed beauty

I can’t find myself in stories of sadness

I don’t cry sweet sounds of prose

Or have scars of a faded past.

I write for the blank white spaces

At the edges of the print

I write for freedom and joy

I write for the sake of storytelling

And for the gaps between stories

For soft light and tulips.

I write for the hope that someday

Young people will not need to look for sadness

To fuel creativity.

soft

Leave a Reply

